A Loser, Some Poetry, and a Cow


It’s been two weeks since I posted. I’m just starting to adjust to my new schedule, so I should be back to my usual self soon.

Anyway, today I wrote my first haiku. Now, this is a great accomplishment for myself.

Poetry and I never really clicked. I’d be fumbling for rhymes, trying for the perfect metaphor, slapping my knee whilst struggling to remember an awesome punchline. I mean, to put it straight, I freaking sucked at poetry.

I guess I just don’t have a poetic mind. I don’t understand poetry. The big picture is never in view, because I like to draw out the details. With me things usually only have one meaning. Metaphors take me forever to grasp.

But today, I did it. I wrote my first fully fledged, acceptable poem. A haiku. A haiku about a cow. (A Haiku is a traditional Japanese type of poem. It has three lines, Line 1 has 5 syllables, Line 2 has 7 syllables, and Line 3 has 5 syllables.)

Large, big, with black spots

Producer of milk and beef

and lives on a farm.

And there you have it. Taku is no longer a loser who can’t grasp something as simple as poetry. It maybe simple, but it’s special. And I am proud.

You may speak now.

