Anything But the Opera!


All my life, I’ve been taught by televisions finest that opera was a noisy, unpleasant, long, drabby, boring musical play done by large Scandinavian women with their blond braids topped with a large viking hat, horns and all.

In recent days, I’ve come to realization that I was wrong. So very wrong. I am shocked that for all these years I’ve turned a cold, ignorant shoulder to the fine art of Opera.

A few weeks ago, I saw Montreal Director of OSM (Orchestre Symphonique De Montreal) Kent Nagano and his Symphony Orchestra do a performance with some circus and an opera on CBC. It was one of the best performances I have ever seen. Hell, it was one of the best things I’ve ever saw on TV. Ever. (I think).

This made me change my mind about opera and drove me to research it. I listened to many opera singing videos on Youtube. They gave me chills man, they gave me chills. I grew even closer to opera.

Flipping through channels one day, I came across a movie of  Carmen (the opéra comique). (There are dozens of films adaptations on Carmen, so I’m not too sure which one it was). I watched till the end and gave it a standing ovation. I mean it was that good.

I am now making future plans to see an opera sometime. I admit it. I am in love with the opera.

(Ha, as I’m writing this, I’m listening to a cover of Rusalka.)

2 responses to “Anything But the Opera!

  1. I always said if I were a rich and gentile lady I would love to be taken to the first night of the opera in a big beautiful dress 🙂

    I’m not a fan but it always seemed like such a cultured and glamorous thing to do.

You may speak now.

